The Blind Sightseers Drive Supercars!! πŸ˜²

Hi friends! Well here it is…The post containing me & Sarah’s stupendous memories of the day i’ve been waiting 22 years for, since i lost my sight and could no longer drive…As it’s a long post i really hope you can read, watch the videos and enjoy the whole experience with us! β˜• πŸ˜€

Rob (can’t thank him enough for everything) pulled into the car park at Prestwold Hall Race Track near Loughborough, and as he read out loud the sign saying “Adult Blind Supercar Driving” my stomach hit the floor! I think the realisation of what was about to happen finally hit me, i’d been fine up until this point but for some reason getting the chance to drive again after 22 years was right here, right now! 😨

We all walked inside of the little reception building where me and Sarah were given a lanyard each with an SD card inside. We had ordered the ‘Media Package’ with our driving experiences which we are so thankful for as they’ve given us these amazing pictures and videos to cherish. Then we were told to go and wait by the pit area near the american diner! πŸ˜€

“Wow that sounds well phat, what car is that?” i asked as Rob had led us to the waiting area. “A Nissan Skyline” Rob said “Awww even if i don’t get to drive today, i could just sit and listen to that beautiful noise”.

When i first heard there was an american diner next to the track i was very excited. I was dreaming of drinking coffee, eating a cheese burger in a booth whilst listening to 50’s rock n’ roll and hearing the noise of those mighty engines…But the diner was closed today! 😭 But i had no time to lament as “Chase (outstanding co-driver” walked up behind us and asked “Are you waiting for the Lamborghini?” πŸ€”

The Lamborghini Gallardo 5.0L V10…

An omnifarious mixture of emotions were swirling around my mind as Chase opened the drivers door for me. I first thought that it would feel strange being behind the wheel again…But it felt completely normal and like i’d always been driving. Second i was thinking how much of a powerful beast this car is so i must try and feather the throttle…Many more things flooded my mind but i’ll spare you, lol. Chase then adjusted my seat for me as the photographer asked me to smile in his direction (not hard when you’re sat in a yellow Lamborghini). πŸ˜€

Wow…The videos really don’t capture the ear blasting volume of the 5.0L V10 engine as i started it up, just ticking over it sounded so loud, angry and like it wanted to eat everything for breakfast, including me…IT WAS AMAZING!! 😲

Chase then said “hold the right paddle towards you to engage 1st gear” and once i’d done it he released the hand brake and asked me to gently pull away. “Wow the car is moving and i’m driving it” i thought to myself as i was navigated out of the pit lane and onto the track. I kept telling Sarah that all i wanted to do is floor it, i wasn’t that fussed about steering etc only flooring it and getting blasted into the seat. But now i’m driving this monster i would be so happy going 10 mph…But then…”FULL POWER” Chase said!! 😨

Awww i can’t tell you how awesome the feeling was when i floored it and paddle shifted through the gears as i reached 106 mph. It’s only a small track with a couple of short straights, but having over 500 bhp the Lamborghini hits 100 mph really quickly…What a ‘vulgar display of power’! 😲

Chase seemed to love being on the track too and kept letting me floor it as the adrenaline rush never ended. I say the adrenaline rush, but as i’m on beater blockers which restricts the adrenal glands, it was a crazy feeling as the Lamborghini was trying to destroy them and give me the boost! 🀣 Not entirely sure how to describe that feeling?! πŸ€”

Chase was helping me out with some of the steering and was flicking the down shift paddle for me as i was having too much fun and forgetting, lol. It felt really safe as the Lamborghini just had so much grip with the all wheel drive and fat tyres. I had never known grip like it and was stunned at the speed we were taking corners…It just went round like they were nothing…Amazing! 😲

Sadly it was soon time to slow down and enter the pits after 3 laps, although i don’t think i could take any more as i might explode, lol. I couldn’t believe i’d driven again after 22 years, floored it lots of times and to do it in a Lamborghini is mind blowing for me! πŸ˜€

Me, Chase And The Lamborghini Gallardo…

My legs were like jelly as i climbed out of the very low car and it took a minute getting them to hold me up…I think the Lamborghini won the beater blocker fight! Sarah told me that Rob had said to her “Wow, i don’t recognise Steve as he has a massive grin on his face, lol”. 🀣 Mission complete!!

Chase guided me back to Sarah and Rob and Sarah asked “How was it?” i could only say “INEFABLE“. 😲 Chase then told Sarah it was her turn! 😲

Sarah And The Lamborghini Gallardo 5.0L V10…

Wow, wait a minute…I can’t believe how much the yellow Lamborghini suits Sarah!! Did she order this car to be made just for her, and in her favourite colour too?! πŸ˜€

Seriously i’m so proud of my lovely wife Sarah for doing this. She has NEVER driven before and this is a scary beast of a first car!! 😨 But as you may know Sarah is a warrior, and in no time at all she had this ‘Raging Bull’ under control, lol! 🀣 πŸ’ͺ🏼

Standing next to Rob i said “Wow that’s loud from outside. It’s really loud inside but nothing like that”. Sarah was approaching the final bend before the first straight (where we are standing) and Rob said “woah Sarah’s way more aggressive into (and going round) that bend, much more aggressive than you did it”. 😲

“Awww that engine sounds incredible and so angry…THAT’S MY GIRL, GIVE IT THE BEANS”. 🀣 THEN SHE FLOORED IT!!! 😲

Sarah reached over 107 mph up the straight! 😲 Yeah i know that’s over 1 mph faster than me, as Sarah keeps telling me, lol. I’m never going to hear the last of this…Sarah’s friend Caroline says she should have the speed printed on a t-shirt so it’ll remind me that she thrashed me, lol! I told you i’ll never hear the last of this..But it does make me – SO, SO PROUD OF SARAH!!

Sarah continued flooring it and Chase gave her the new nickname “Speed Demon” when he said it on the video…Yes we even have video proof of him saying it so it’s official, lol!

As Sarah was thundering around the track i was able to listen to a couple standing near to me, they first said “Ooohhh the yellow car is catching the Ferrari” I knew this was Sarah they were talking about, and i think they were with the person who was driving the Ferrari. Then they continued in a much louder shocked voice “wOW SHE HAS OVERTAKEN THE FERRARI”. 😲 I smiled to myself as i didn’t have to worry Sarah wasn’t enjoying herself! 🀣

Now it was time for Chase to say his best comment ever?! There are two main straights separated by a sharp right hander, so Sarah had the chance to boot it twice on the trot. I’ll let you watch the 38 second video (comment is at the end) before i continue…πŸ€”

OTHERWISE WE’RE GONNA DIE” I quote this all of the time which doesn’t fail to put a huge smile on both our faces! πŸ˜€ I still can’t believe how quickly Sarah had become ‘Penelope Pitstop’ or should i say ‘The Stig’s Sister’…She was paddle shifting like a pro too…I think i’m glad the Lamborghini only had 2 seats, lol! 🀣

As Sarah finished her final and 3rd lap, there was just enough time for Chase to say another one of his classic comments before he stopped the video recording.

Sarah was laughing her head off as she arrived back to me and Rob. She absolutely loved it and said her legs were like jelly too, although she thinks that ‘Chase’ may need a break for a while to get over the shock, lol! 🀣 Then the couple who i was listening to earlier walkd over to us. They told Sarah that she was amazing and that she’d overtaken the Ferrari, and she was so fast! They then asked if Sarah was a racing driver? Sarah laughed really hard and said she wasn’t as it was the very first time she’d ever driven a car. They were very shocked and were sure Sarah was a racing driver. We all said we’d had a great time and they said there goodbyes. πŸ˜€

Sarah still believes they were planted there just to say nice things to people, but i keep telling her no as i was listening to them whilst you were out on the track, and they were here with the person in the Ferrari and couldn’t believe you’d blasted past a Ferrari…Sarah’s still not convinced, lol! 🀣

I said to Sarah and Rob “If i’d only had the 1 supercar drive today (like Sarah) it would’ve been a dream come true and i’d he the happiest ever, and also i’m super buzzing right now and my legs are still like jelly…But i have 2 more supercars to go!! 😲

The Ferrari F430 Spider 4.3L V8…

I didn get chance to stop shaking before ‘George” (new co-driver) came over and walked me over to the Ferrari. I was excited to feel (and hear) the difference between the 2 cars, and i instantly felt the difference as i sat inside and put my foot on the pedals…Yes the pedals are so close together you press the accelerator and half of the brake at the same time! Oh don’t forget to smile as the photographer is here, lol! πŸ˜€

Starting the engine and having my ears filled with the glorious sound of the V8 made my grin even wider. It wasn’t as loud and angry as the Lamborghini, but still sounded like a beautiful orchestra playing a ‘symphony of destruction’! πŸ’ͺ🏼

I adapted quickly to the new pedals, as i pointed my foot so just my toes were pressing the pedals and this seemed to work well. I also had the same paddles behind the steering wheel as the Lamborghini so i was shifting gears nicely…Wow i’m driving a Ferrari!! πŸ˜€

George was fantastic and after we’d done the first warm up lap, and didn’t have any crashes or dramas…He let me floor it! Aww once again the video doesn’t do the sound any justice at all, but it still sounds stupendous!! Being blown back into the seat whilst planting your foot to the floor, then paddle shifting up a gear once again…Will never ever get boring!! πŸ’ͺ🏼 😲

Once again i’m so thankful for the media package Sarah added to this awesome birthday driving gift, as we can watch these videos over and over…Like i already have been doing, lol! Having all of these fantastic photos of these beautiful cars is such a blessing, and i’m sure i’ll get them printed on a variety of posters, mugs, coasters and more, lol! 🀣

George also asked how much i could see of the track so he could judge and adjust the help he was giving…I said “Well i can’t see anything out of the windscreen, i can’t see the dashboard or the steering wheel and everything is really blurry” I think he got the idea! 🀣 I can’t thank the co-drivers enough for putting there lives on the line for us blindies, i’m not only amazed that a blindman could drive like this…But i’m also amazed that these guys are so kind to guide, teach and be so calm as the cars scream around the track! πŸ˜€

This stunning red Ferrari was rear wheel drive instead of all wheel drive like the Lamborghini, but the amount of grip was just as intense around the corners…But unfortunately it was coming to that time again where i had to slow this ‘Italian stallion’ down and pull into the pits. 😭 After thanking George for getting us back alive he guided me back to Sarah and Rob. Shaking even more, heart trying to thump past the beater blockers and an mad grin that looked like the ‘frayed ends of sanity’ were loosening…I told Sarah how amazing it was! πŸ’ͺ🏼 πŸ˜€

Me And The Porsche 911 Turbo 3.6L Flat 6…

There wasn’t much time at all for me to calm down as Carl (another co-driver) came and took me to the Porsche. After the Lamborghini and Ferrari i always thought the Porsche was a slight come down (just me as i was never really a Porsche fan) as they were my fave cars…But who doesn’t want to drive a Porsche 911 Turbo?! 🀣 As a kid i never had Porshce posters (from Athena) on my wall, i had the Lamborghini Contach, Ferrari F40 and the mighty Koenig Testarossa! 😲

After a few attempts at starting the car, i was doing everything right but nothing was happening when turning the key…It was apparent the battery was flat…Oh that’s why the engines called a ‘Flat 6’ 🀣 We waited quite a while before Carl said we could swap for the Audi R8 if i wanted too…? πŸ€” At least i have a nice photo of me sat in a Porsche 911 Turbo!! πŸ’ͺ🏼

Me And The Audi R8 4.2L V8…

Walking towards the R8 i asked Carl whilst getting into the seat “What colour is this Audi?” he said it used to be red but we changed it to orange, i thought “wow Sarah is going to love this as it’s one of her fave colours”. πŸ˜€

After smiling for the photographer for the 4th time, i thought it was cool that i’ve got photos of me sat in 4 cars today instead of 3…Bonus! 🀣 The R8 started straight away and i instantly realised that the V8 was very quiet, it felt more like a luxury car than a supercar…Not that i’m complaining, just trying to keep you immersed in detailed descriptions lol! 🀣

I got the chance to floor yet another supercar today (totally unbelievable for this blindman) although i only reached a mere 90 mph…Can’t believe i’m actually saying stuff like this, but it’s been a strange, surreal and awesome kind of day! 🀣

I knew this 4.2L V8 – 420 bhp was the same engine in Ben’s (ex brother-in-law and friend) Audi RS4, but it sounded (or applied the power) nothing like the RS4. I know Ben had tuned his to 450 bhp and his is a front engined (not mid engined) like the R8, but out of the two cars i think i prefer Ben’s Audi RS4 as it just has more character! πŸ˜€

There was no sense of theatre or dramas at all when flooring this R8. The engine was quiet, the brakes were super sharp and responsive and It was so good around the corners that it seemed to take away the thrill…I know i can’t believe i’m saying this either! πŸ˜€it made everything so easy to achieve that it seemed to take the fun out of driving! It’s similar to how an electric car destroys the soul, and continues to squeeze the entire life out of driving…Leaving you wishing you had walked!! 😭 Sorry a little too much exaggeration from this petrolhead, i know i’d already been amazed by the Lamborghini and Ferrari…Although i’m sticking to the bit about the soul destroying electric car! πŸ˜€

Yes it’s that time again where i have to pit and finish my supercar driving experience. 😭 I still can’t believe it’s actually me sat in the driving seat of the Lamborghini, Ferrari, Porsche and Audi in the photos…I don’t think i’ll ever get over it! 😲

High Speed Passenger Ride: BMW M3 4.0L V8 …

“The experience also includes a thrilling hot lap ride when the race driver will show you what a performance car can do around the circuit in a BMW M3 V8 with 3 passengers”.

Sarah is actually driving away in that yellow Lamborghini!! 😲

As me (and Sarah) had been driving today it meant we had 2 laps in this car. It was time for Rob to get in on the action. Sarah said for me to go in the front seat first as we all climbed aboard…And the driver floored it! 😨Wow i have never been around corners that fast, and i have no idea how the tyres (and us) held on for dear life. The G force of the corners was relentless, and when the car stopped being a blur and finally stopped (our terrified giggles didn’t)…Sarah and i got out to swap seats for another lap.

The race driver blasted away again and after the first corner i knew why Sarah loved it more in the back! The car just threw you around as there were no bucket seats like in the front. The slippy leather seats made for a crazy, fun and terrifying experience…It was fantastic!! 😲 Unfortunately we didn’t have the in car media on this ride…But if only you could smell those burning tyres, wow!! 😲

My Supercar Thrill Trailer…

After many days of struggling i managed to put together a trailer with all of the photos and videos i’d acquired from the day. It didn’t take me as long as this post has taken me though! 🀣

Walking back to Rob’s van in a daze i couldn’t quite believe what had just happened…I’m still numb nearly 2 weeks on! Rob then pulled out of the car park and the rain absolutely hammered down…It was pounding the windscreen so hard we all couldn’t believe it. We’d turned up over an hour early as i wantedd to do the american diner thing, and as we’d turned up early the co-drivers had taken us out as they said they were not busy…If we’d had arrived on time, i would’ve been driving in this rain and it would’ve ruined the day!! 😨

Just one more thing…?

As part of my plan for this day, i wanted to go from a ‘Lamborghini’ to a ‘Lambor-Donor’ as in Derby they serve kebabs on a naan so i try and have one when i’m up. As usual Rob made it happen…We had kebabs with Rob, Shelley, Abbie, Ella & Georgia!! πŸ˜‹

Thanks to everyone for making this dream come true! πŸ™

3 thoughts on “The Blind Sightseers Drive Supercars!! πŸ˜²

    1. Thanks so much! Yes the cars were amazing and we’ll never forget this fantastic experience, and thanks to this post we can read it back for many years to come! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Wow, what a rush!!! You are remarkable, my friend and so is your beautiful, daring, competitive wife. During my first career in public relations, I produced an exotic car show with Lamborghinis’ and Ferrari’. They were definitely gorgeous machines. (Especially loved the Diablo.) You’re both living long and prospering, that’s for sure! πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a comment